Voting Guide – Gubernatorial Primary Election June 7, 2022

  • Senator, Short Term– Alex Padilla
  • Senator, Full Term– Alex Padilla

  • District 50, U.S. House of Representatives – Scott Peters

  • Governor, State of California – Gavin Newsom
  • Lieutenant Governor, State of California – Eleni Kounalakis 
  • Secretary of State, State of California – Dr. Shirley Weber 
  • Controller, State of California – Malia Cohen
  • Treasurer, State of California – Fiona Ma
  • Attorney General, State of California – Rob Bonta 
  • Insurance Commissioner, State of California – Ricardo Lara
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction, State of California – Tony Thurmond 
  • Member, District 4, California Board of Equalization – Mike Schaefer

  • District 77, California State Assembly – Tasha Boerner Horvath

  • Judge, Office 32, San Diego Superior Court
  • Judge, Office 35, San Diego Superior Court – Rebecca Kanter or Michael J. Flemming (vote for one)
  • Judge, Office 36, San Diego Superior Court – Peter Singer

  • Trustee, Trustee Area C, San Diego Unified School District – Cody Petterson

  • Sheriff, San Diego County – Dave Myers

  • City Council, District 2, City of San Diego – Joel Day or Lori Saldaña (vote for one)


The Gubernatorial Primary Election will be the first countywide election conducted under the Voter’s Choice Act.

Under the Voter’s Choice Act (VCA), you choose when, where and how you vote. Every active registered voter in San Diego County will automatically receive a ballot in the mail nearly a month before Election Day. Once you receive your ballot, you can return it:

  • By mail
  • At a secure Ballot Drop Off Location
  • At a Vote Center near you

What is a Vote Center?

Vote Centers replace polling places. You can vote in person at any Vote Center in San Diego County. Some Vote Centers will be open for 11 days and all Vote Center locations will be open 4 days, including Election Day.

Vote Centers offer a full-service voting experience:

  • Vote using an accessible ballot marking device
  • Receive voting assistance, including assistance in multiple languages
  • Register to vote or update your registration and vote on the same day
  • Request a replacement ballot

The Registrar of Voters is the official election resource in San Diego County.
Main: (858) 565-5800 Toll free: (800) 696-0136
5600 Overland Ave. San Diego, CA 92123 @sdvote #SDVOTE

Photo by Element5 Digital on Unsplash