All posts tagged: ruth rollins

Our Communications Chair John Loughlin Elected Director of Clubs

At Saturday’s meeting of the Council of Clubs our Communications Chair, John Loughlin, was elected to be the next Director of Clubs by representatives from each club. His endorsements included the outgoing Director for the last four years, Ruth Rollins. In a thank you email to the club presidents, John wrote: Thank you for voting Whichever candidate you voted for, thank you for coming out today. There was a lot of great news from clubs across the county. Throughout next year we’ll be working together to share the narratives from these recent campaign successes, as well as addressing issues we can improve. There is no formal meeting in December, but please reach out to me by phone or email to talk over any and all ideas you have to move things forward. We’ve already started working on putting together a Club Development Workshop type meeting for January, to kick off the year with constructive ideas and to prioritize the work in front of us. Thank you for your confidence in selecting me to help, I am honored. If …

Our Communications Chair is a Candidate for San Diego County Democratic Party Director of Clubs

Since 2012 former Club President Ruth Rollins has represented all of the Democratic Clubs to the San Diego County Democratic Party Central Committee. The Director of Clubs is elected by the Presidents of the Democratic Clubs in the county and Ruth serves on the E-Board of the Party and as Chair of the Club Development Committee. Next month, on November 19th, the Presidents will meet at their informal monthly Council of Clubs meeting to elect the Director of Clubs and our own Communications Chair, John Loughlin, is running for the position.

Notes from the April Meeting – Straw Presidential Caucus and How to Vote for Delegates to the Democratic National Convention

Club President Susan Peinado thanked everyone for coming, thanked Phil Currier for the snacks, noting he was the new Refreshments Chair, asked everyone to make sure they’d signed in, welcomed all guests, and introduced new members Doug Case, Melissa Diaz, Dave Engel, Ramon Espinal, Michelle Krug, Susan Orlofsky, Mary Witzell, Anita and Will Tuchrello, and Thurman Hampton. Reports Vice President Mike Johnson called for members to help out at the OB Street Fair & Chili Cook-Off, to be held Saturday, June 25, 10 AM – 8 PM. About 10 volunteers were needed to work 2-hour stints. The club will be registering people to vote and trying to attract new members to the club. Susan added that the Democratic Woman’s Club and the Veteran’s Club will be sharing the club’s booth this year and said the event was a great opportunity for members of the community to meet up. Treasurer Jonathan Wubbolding gave details on the club’s bank balance, E-Board authorization for a Facebook ad fund, and the purchase of stickers on which to advertise the club and …

Dec 6 – Annual Point Loma & OB Dems Holiday Party Potluck

In place of our regular monthly meeting in December we’re having our Annual Holiday Party of the Point Loma Democratic Club, at the home of Ruth Rollins. Come celebrate the holidays with your fellow Dems. We’re looking forward to a triumphant 2016 and this is a great chance to socialize with many of the candidates running in local races. The Club will furnish turkey, ham and soft drinks, plus two drink tickets per person for wine and (great, local) beer. It’s a potluck and we ask everyone to bring a dish or side – veggies, mac and cheese, baked beans, potato salad, coleslaw, macaroni salad. Please invite your friends and potential members to attend and meet fellow Democrats and elected officials, in a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. New members can signup for 2016 membership and get reduced entry to the party. Renewing members can pay their dues and confirm their contact details with the club. Members Entry Price $10.00 per person Non-members Entry Price $20.00 per person When Sunday December 6, 2015 4:00 PM Where 1268 Savoy St, San Diego, CA 92107 You can buy tickets …

Congratulations to All the New DSCC Delegates for the 78th AD

There were 451 votes cast at the 78th ADEM. I want to thank the volunteers who got more than they bargained for but soldiered on and everyone who took part in the largest ADEM I have ever been part of in my 10 years as Regional Director – Steve Rivera These results are unofficial, but we believe they’re accurate. Susan Guinn Gretchen Newsom Gail Mackler Jamie Quient Cynara Velazquez Rhoda Quate Andrea Villa Brian Polejes Jared Quient Fred Rogers Craig Roberts Max Cotterill Rory Prendergast Tanner Sanger