All posts tagged: 78th Assembly District

Ed Harris Interviewed on KFMB Radio

On Saturday 7 February, Richard Muscio and Joe Vecchio interviewed former District 2 Councilmember (and clubmember) Ed Harris on their KFMB radio show It’s Your Money and Your Life.  Ed talks about his background, lifeguarding, being a councilmember, being eaten by a plastic bag, and looks forward to the 78 Assembly District election next year. You can listen (or download) to the podcast here (mp3).

Notes from January’s Meeting – Civic Engagement

Club President Susan Peinado called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM January 25, 2015 and thanked everyone that brought snacks. Welcome and Introduction of Elected Officials and Candidates Susan welcomed and introduced guests (Gaspar and Beverly and Rosalie Schwartz), and new members Tom Leech, Brian Polejes, Barbara Glaze, Julie Quinn, William Rodriguez- Kennedy, Dolores Veronda, and Dev Zaveri. Susan then introduced clubmember Sarah Boot, candidate for Assembly District 78. Sarah thanked the Point Loma Club and its members for supporting her campaign for City Council and provided an overview of her candidacy for the 78th Assembly District and noted that she has received the endorsement of Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins. Program: Civic Engagement For this month’s meeting the club welcomed local candidates who are setting the debate through their ongoing work with local institutions and body politic. Discussion also included the importance of civic engagement and getting involved in one’s community. Rafael Castellanos Rafael provided an overview of his civic engagement experience. Rafael was sworn in to the Board of Port Commissioners on April 15, 2013, …

Point Loma Democratic & Coastal Clubs Candidates Sweep 78th Assembly District Caucus (Unofficial)

The 78th Assembly District Caucus took place in La Jolla on Saturday January 12, 2013 Several Point Loma Democratic Club members were elected as delegates. The (unofficial) results show the winners as: Women Nancy Casady, Gail Mackler, Susan Peinado, Ruth Rollins Martha Sullivan and Cynara Velazquez If the Central Committee appoint Ruth as a Central Committee Delegate then Ann Wilson will move into Ruth’s spot. Men Derek Casady, Michael McQuary, Fred Rogers, Lawrence Zynda Ramon Espinal and Brian Polejes Fred Rogers won the Executive Board spot. Thanks for all your help and votes. We could not have won if you all had not turned out to vote for us. See you soon. Ruth Rollins Related articles Jan 12 – 78th Assembly District Caucus ( Club Member Candidates for the 78th Assembly District Caucus (