Officers of the Club

Jonathan Wubbolding

President – Jonathan Wubbolding
Jonathan was unanimously elected President of the Club in February 2017. He graduated in the Spring of 2017 with a B.A. in Political Science from San Diego State University. Jonathan served in the U.S. Navy as a Mineman.

Jonathan tutors Political Science, Geography and Writing at San Diego Mesa College veteran’s center. Responsibilities include assisting veterans with college general education level classes, and easing transition into college coursework and systems.

Jonathan was the former club Treasurer and managed fundraising and budget administration and ensured finance filings were compliant with California standards. Jonathan also served as Chair of the Membership Committee overseeing club growth.

Merrin Muxlow

VP – Merrin Muxlow





Deborah Currier

Secretary – Deborah Currier
Like many of her generation, Deborah’s interest in politics began with John F. Kennedy’s presidency.  At 14, she was ecstatic to see him in her hometown of Ft. Worth, Texas, then an hour later profoundly shattered by his death.  She joined the Young Democrats and has since remained an active campaigner for liberal causes.

Deborah studied journalism at UT-Austin, worked as a newspaper reporter, columnist, commercial artist, and finally as an engineering draftsman, technical writer and editor at General Dynamics’ Ft. Worth aircraft division.  She studied studio art at UCSD after her husband Phil transferred to the company’s San Diego electronics division in 1985.

After her San Diego neighborhood of Del Mar Heights redistricted to CA-49, she campaigned for Dave Peiser, who later appointed her as a delegate to the California Democrats State Convention.  In 2015, she joined the Point Loma Democratic Club because it serves an area similar to her own and is such an outstanding club.

Deborah is an avid reader of early American history and the life of George Washington and devotes as much time as possible to her son, two stepdaughters, and ten grandchildren.

Treasurer – David Furlano
A long time member of the club, Dave Furlano has extensive managerial and strategic experience in the pharmaceutical industry. Dr. Furlano held regulatory positions at Acadai, Vical, Ligand Pharmaceuticals, Abbott Laboratories and Parke-Davis Pharmaceuticals. Earlier in his career, he worked as a reviewer at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and as a research scientist at the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Furlano received a Ph.D. degree in Medicinal Chemistry and Natural Products from the University of Iowa and a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Connecticut.