March 2017

The Point Loma Democratic Club is one of several clubs of the San Diego County Democratic Party.

We were formed in 1954 to serve the Point Loma, Ocean Beach, and Loma Portal communities.

We invite you to join us at our Events that are regularly held at the Point Loma Assembly, 3035 Talbot St, most months on the 3rd or 4th Sunday  from 4:00-5:30 PM.

Download an Overview of the Club (PDF) that provides more details of our activities.

Pt Loma Assembly
Pt Loma Assembly

Social Time
For meetings at Point Loma Assembly we get together at 3:30pm. Please bring whatever light snacks/drinks that you’d like to share. After the meeting members and guests regularly adjourn to locally-owned nearby venues such as Jennings House 1018 Rosecrans Street and/or the Point Break Cafe at 2743 Shelter Island Dr.

Directions and Parking
Most of our meetings take place at the Point Loma Assembly, 3035 Talbot Street, San Diego, CA 92106. There is plenty of street parking and on Sundays there is free parking in the San Diego County Credit Union lot on the corner of Rosecrans St and Talbot St, entrance from Rosecrans St only.

Members come from all over San Diego County

Public Transport
Point Loma Assembly is about 2.5 miles west of the San Diego International Airport, a 10 minute cab ride, and 5 miles west of the Santa Fe Plaza (Amtrak and Coaster) and American Plaza Trolley Station (Blue and Orange Lines), a 15 minute cab ride. The 923 bus runs from outside the Santa Fe Station and past the Airport. Alight at the corner of Rosecrans St and Nimitz Blvd and walk south on Rosecrans for 15 minutes (0.8 miles, 1.3km) to Talbot St.

Presidents Circle

Shoba Reddy


Barbara Bry
Angela Hawkins


Anna Amundson
Toni Atkins
Dave Furlano
Gerry Halpern
Gale Hill
Chris Ward
Gary Werchak


Tony Cataldo
Lan Lan Chen
Judith Collier
Diane Helvig
Diane Lane
Joe LaCava
Katherine Merten
Ulrich Merten
Susan Peinado

Point Loma Democratic Club
PO Box 7802
San Diego, CA 92167

(619) 800 5098

Chartered by the San Diego County Democratic Party

Merrin Muxlow, President
Angela Hawkins, Vice President
Gary Werchak, Secretary
David Furlano, Treasurer

Endorsement Committee, Deval Zaveri-Tabb

Recent Presidents of the Club

Merrin Muxlow       Feb 2019 -  
Jonathan Wubbolding Feb 2017 - Feb 2019
Susan Peinado Feb 2013 - Feb 2017
Ruth Rollins Feb 2009 - Feb 2013
Nancy Witt Aug 2005 - Feb 2009 (second term)
Bob Wilberg Feb 2003 - Feb 2005
Brian Lawrence Feb 2005 - Aug 2005
Jane Gawronski Feb 2001 - Feb 2003
Nancy Witt Feb 1999 - Feb 2001 (first term)
Robert DeVries Dec 1994 - Feb 1999
Bill Winston Apr 1994 - Nov 1994
Frances Moan Feb 1994 - Apr 1994
Gayle Hall ~ 1990 - Feb 1994